Heart Strings

All around me I see,
Men loving Women unconditionally,
A small gesture, a big smile
a warm hug, a silent nod

I see it in their eyes
I watch them pledge their devotion
Notice the long wait in the car,
And the tolerance of her short temper

He stays there, unyielding.
Firmly planted.
He’ll carry her home, wash her hair
Put her to bed, sing to her.

There are chivalrous men, I believe.
Men who stand and fight.
Men who won’t betray.
Men who are masculine.

I look back, at her
I smile to myself.
She succumbed to her immediate desires.
Shee followed her present ideas.

From Woman to mangled.
From Pretty to pitied.
She chose spite over love.
Chose boy over man.
Pink over green.

She tells herself she’s valued.
Confirms daily that she is loved.
Yet… the vixen that made her Woman
will forever be her treasured illusion.

There he struts, that firework.
Free to love forever more.
He realizes true passion has no bounds
The loss was hers, his glory found.

Leave a Reply

