Truncated to the median..

Instinctively I flow with the crowd wherever, it goes
I rush to agree with whatever has the majority vote
Ignoring, denying, repressing anything that contradicts
Rejecting all that stands out
But my heart beats out of time from the common pulse

While I discard unconventional desires that find no place in the format
And stretch my values to fit the world that exists
Try as I might, I cannot muffle that errant rhythm
A constant throbbing reminder that life isn’t just a tight fit…
Its a screaming, hysterical blue fit
Barely contained in such concepts as society, civilization and culture

And the reality that 6 billion rhythms
Are being subdued, altered, muffled, stifled
In an effort to truncate to the median.

Leave a Reply

