Love Education

Listen love birds. Today I am going to teach you a lesson or two. If you are someone who goes around telling everyone about your decade long love affair which is Disney like magical and will be surely followed by ‘the happily ever after’ part, then it is you who I am talking to and about.

I am tired of people around me boasting about their Oh-So-Perfect lovers, who make their lives enchanting. I am tired of them telling me that they cannot imagine an existence without the love of their life. I am tired of hearing that they have planned their future and will go against the world just to get hitched to each other. Please, I beg you to cut the crap off. I do believe in love and I know that you tend to do lots of foolish things while you are in it. It’s a crazy dreamland where you go blind, dumb, deaf and sometimes even handicapped. You treat your so called soul mate as if he/she is the Sun your world is revolving around. So, I repeat, I do know a thing or two about love and its toxicity.

My dear victims of the barbaric Cupid, there are so many things that I would like to bring to your notice. I know that though on the outside you look like love struck zombies, deep within you are well aware of your insecurities and your confusions. You know that everything is not sugar and cake. Your mind knows it all but your heart continues the love chant. Then why do you go around blindly promising your supposedly better half about growing old together, giving names to nonexistent children, planning post retirement life and sometimes even wishing stupid things like dying in each others arms followed by being buried side by side? Why do you resemble a tortoise inside its shell at night, holding on to your phone and discussing in a very serious tone whether the color of the curtains in your imaginary home will be deep purple or red?

Let me now introduce you to the cardinal principle of this intangible thing called love and it is called ‘Honesty’. Be honest to your lover. I won’t use the term soul mate or better half or any other cranky word because you are not yet married to that person. Stop promising each other a happy married life together. Life is uncertain and so are you. I am not saying that you should not desire a life with them nor am I implying that you should not spend cosy nights in each others arms, talking about the number of children you both want. All I am saying is that ‘Desire’ is one thing and to ‘Promise’ is another. Do not promise things which you are not sure about.

Love is a strong and a strange feeling, but you cannot survive just on it. You cannot make ends meet and your stomach full by eating on Love. That shit is just for the movies and songs. Love vanishes over a period of time but you get so addicted to the person that you don’t realize that it was long gone. They become your habit and you don’t remember a life without them.

Life is meant to be seen with your ‘Practical’ glasses on. Love your lover and tell them about your desire to spend the rest of your life with them. But let them know that you don’t promise it because you are a human being who can change in a split second. I have so many friends who were in long term relationships and had promised to stick to each other no matter what. They ended up getting dumped or being the one to dump. Why bet on something, you don’t have your hand on?

So kids, fall in love, dream, desire and build your own imaginary world. But please don’t promise anyone anything. If ‘Happily ever after’ has to happen, it definitely will. Till then, shut the fuck up. 

Lovingly

9 thoughts on “Love Education

    1. I like the clean look of your blog. I would love seeing either photos or some posts on the front page. use them as a default template or even grid template would look awesome. For now, I don’t see a follow up button and even some of the photos on your blog aren’t loading. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

