The year that was..

Another year comes to a close….they seem to be merging into one another. I think back to New Years last year…or even the year before that. It’s all so vivid, as if it only happened yesterday. The years go by like a film in fast forward with the scenes blurring because of the pace.

Each year, I stride into January with Big Dreams and High Hopes. A small voice in my head cheers the mantra, “This is the year! This is the year!” I can’t help but be swept up in the exhilarating annual revel of redemption and expectation. After all, who doesn’t love a second chance?

Processing my New Year this way — looking both backward and forward, layering my hopes and plans for the New Year on top of the successes and missteps of the old one — forces me to take a longer view of things — to look at the “old” year and the new one not as distinct entities that must be judged against each other, but as interwoven pieces of an unbroken continuum.

Likewise, I no longer feel the need to reinvent myself. I am not a series of annual iterations. There is no 2016 Neal vs a 2017 Neal. There’s just me. 

Last year I abandoned my list of resolutions in favor of just One Word. The idea of One Word is to get rid of your list and to choose a single word to focus on for a whole year. “One word that sums up who you want to be and how you want to live.”

In 2016, I chose the word “Wholehearted.” It was a big word that encompassed an entire way of looking at the world. I’m not finished with wholeheartedness — becoming wholehearted is a lifelong journey — but I have chosen a new word to represent 2017. My word is  “Mindfulness.

Nostalgia. It’s a tricky quagmire, for people like me to get lost in. I need it. It fuels me, it sustains me, it gives me a sense of self and identity. And yet, I must keep it from overwhelming me since it is after all, recycled experience. So I pull on a light nostalgia jacket (it’s soft-lined) and head into the grand adventure of the future. Even if it looks the same, I don’t know it right now. And that is what makes it worth living into. Besides, I got a Heart of Gold and it’s powered by the Improbability Drive.

So before the sun sets in this day, before the memories fade in this year, before the networks get jammed… Happy New Year !

PS- 2017 will be the make or break year for me both personally as well as professionally  that will pave the way to my future endeavours. Scared? yeah for now !!

36 thoughts on “The year that was..

  1. Every year brings with it – anxiousness and excitement. 2017 cannot be any different. But I hope it goes well for you, and make you achieve all your endeavours.
    2017 would be lucky for you, or shall I say you would make 2017 lucky for yourself.😉😇

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Now it is I who is at a loss as a comment worthy of your offering….you are so articulate, and eloquent…your metaphors are fantastic, your philosophical introspection is divine, your wisdom is so admirable…and I just love your one-word-resolution to continue to grow and give. Mindfulness….Your writing is so familiar, in the sense that you are “preaching to the choir”…the way you craft your sentences, the way you express your thoughts….it all reads–and feels-like the kind of writing I loved ever since I fell in love with reading. Thank you for sharing your amazing heart, soul, and giftedness. Happy New Year 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m at loss of words. Blank. You have no Idea what that meant to me. Never I have been treated this beautifully. Damn you, trying hard to control my sebaceous glands. You make me want to be the person I am capable of being. Rib cracking hugs 🤗 truly :).. Happy New year to you too. Stay in touch 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. First, I will definitely stay in touch…secondly, the reason we connect so well is because you wanted to be the person you are capable of being before you ever knew I existed….I say that so that you will give yourself credit for being your own best friend–for being the person who does the “heavy lifting” in the face of opposition (whether external or internal). I know you will stay the course, and I know you will let nothing stand in your way….I believe in you…and, don’t get me wrong, I will be honoured to give you a lift when you need it….just as you boost my spirits with you kindness and positive regard….you are sooooooo awesome and I am sending you a huge hug back. Stay you 🙂 Happy New Year 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Not fair that I don’t get to uplift you so beautifully with words. Wonder why you keep praising me all the time not that I don’t enjoy it :P..Now Shhh enjoy your day ^^

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I know the potential benefits to my kindness towards anyone can be staggering. A pat on the back might boost their self-esteem, enhance their self-confidence, make them work harder, lift their spirits and make them successful in their endeavors and I will be supremely happy to be the stimuli, to be the driving force 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks so much, Neal. 🙂 Well, I have a question, I hope you won’t mind me asking… I am not that knowledgeable and I may be wrong but aren’t Nostalgia and Mindfulness two completely different contradictory terms?

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks dear. Happy New year to you too. It’s so kind of you to nominate me but I would politely decline for the reasons I would share later through a post. Please don’t get me wrong, I am forever grateful to you who deems me and my work worthy of a blog award nomination. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve already said that, it’s totally fine, you don’t have to participate. The reason I asked people to check this post was to tell them that I was basically also thanking them for making blogging more interesting for me by being versatile!
        Also, yeah I’m not much into these too, I had not done anything about the previous nominations I got because I don’t understand the deal with these awards but this time I thought I would use this opportunity to thank people!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

